RTAI National Golf Classic 2024

In this  early summer of relentless rain the Weather Gods looked benevolently on the RTAI golfers and gave us a perfect day in Mullingar Golf Club. The Course looked magnificent but proved to be every bit the championship challenge that it is.  We were warmly greeted by Mullingar Golf Club  Lady President Therese Colleary ( RTAI member of  Westmeath Branch ). Herself and Mary Frances Cox also a Westmeath Committee Member  stayed throughout the day and greeted and chatted to our golfers .

Our National Social Committee , Brian Mangan, Marian Ryan, Darina Dolan and Mary McCarthy ensured that teams were on the tee box in time and entered in the Competition.

Twenty eight teams from North South East and West competed in the Classic.  Cavan’s Team of Deirdre Tighe, Thomas Cullen, Martin Brady and Catherine Farrell won the day with a great score of 92 (back 9).  They were followed closely by Kilkenny’s team of Michael O Connor, Marie Gannon, Anita Sheehan and Rosemary McPhillips with a score of 90 (back 9)

The West was awake to  secure third place for  Mayo’s  team of  John Horgan, Dolores Tuohy, Mairéad Staunton and Claire Cooke 90.

The Dublin South Team ( The Blues) of Mary O’Sullivan, Marguerite Ryan, Mary O’ Connor and Mary McCarron

came in fourth with 89.

All agreed that  the Course was in splendid order and a wonderful day was enjoyed by all. Friendships were renewed and the chat went on long into the night.  The Bloomfield House Hotel hosted our Gala dinner. Seán Murray of Comhar Linn ,The Teachers’ Credit Union  presented the prizes. We are most grateful to Comhar Linn for their very generous sponsorship  which they have promised to continue. Míle buíochas.  These events do not happen on their own and we are very grateful to our National Social Committee.