The Branch meeting records on hand go back to 1994. On reading through the Minutes of the meetings, it’s great to see the names of prominent and dedicated RTA members playing a really big part in support of our members. Names like Vincent Cronin (BFC) and Denis Bohane (CEC) from District X11 of the INTO who addressed almost every meeting of Iarchorcaí until their retirement. Likewise, our own member, Noel Coakley featured as a guest speaker on many occasions from District.
The minutes were beautifully written with a lovely balance of Gaeilge and Bearla. I quote a humourous passage from Cruinniú an tSamhraidh 1996 – “There was a slight delay in our meeting then as our two guest speakers got caught up in one of Skibbereen’s famous traffic jams. However, our “energetic” Chairperson kept us entertained with her lovely “chocolate” quizzes. Eventually Mr. V Cronin and Mr Noel Coakley arrived breathless”.
Our recently retired Secretary, Freda Salter-Townshend took over as Secretary in 1999 and served a total of 16 years.
Our current Chairman, Breandán de Paor, represented the Branch as a delegate to the RTA  AGM (now Convention) in Dublin in September 2000 and delivered a most detailed report to the next meeting. He was elected Vice-Chairman in 2001 and Chairman in 2003.
In November 2001 John Carr was our guest speaker as INTO General Secretary Designate and Brian Crowley MEP addressed the members in November 2003.
As one would expect, Denis Desmond, General Secretary RTA features very prominently as the guest speaker at many meetings up to his retirement in 2015. He often spoke of his grá for West Cork and how pleased he was to bring his wife Siobhán to his homeland !
Next Branch Meeting

Details of the next meeting will be posted here as soon as they become available.

Branch Officers

Breandán de Paor


Fachtna Hamilton


Fachtna Hamilton


Contact Us

Fachtna: (087) 667-9614


Brendan email: