The Retired Teachers’ Association of Ireland (RTAI) is a vibrant and energetic fellowship of retired primary teachers. Founded in Dublin in the early 50’s it has grown to over 9,500 members organised in 32 branches throughout the 26 counties.
There are two key aspects to the work of the Association. Firstly, at national level there is a strong focus on looking after the interests of retired teachers in relation to pensions and other issues that impact on their welfare and wellbeing. Providing advice and services to individual members is central to this aspect of our work.

Secondly, at local level there is a strong social element to the Association that provides the opportunity for members to engage in a variety of activities and events but also provides an opportunity for members to remain in touch with former colleagues as part of a collegiate and supportive network. The title of our magazine Comhnasc, reflects the importance of remaining ‘connected’ in the culture of the Association.
The policies and direction of the RTAI are set by an annual delegate convention. A twelve member National Executive Committee, comprising 11 retired teachers elected annually and the General Secretary oversee the activities of the Association on an ongoing basis.

The RTAI works closely with other kindred organisations and in particular values its relationship with the INTO.

Mr. Luke McGinley, RTAI President


Ms. Sheelagh Coyle, RTAI Vice-President


Mr. Tom Burke, RTAI Ex-President

National Executive Committee (NEC)

Mr. Luke McGinley



Ms. Sheelagh Coyle



Mr. Thomas Burke



Mr. Billy Sheehan

General Secretary


The members of the NEC for 2017/2018 are:
District 1: Ms. Máire Clarke
District 2: Ms. Mary Kyne
District 3: Mr. Brian Mangan
District 4: Mr. Pádraig S Ó Conaill
District 5: Mr. Joe Cashin,
District 6 : Ms. Mary McCarthy
District 7: Mr. Mick Finn
District 8: Mr. Matt Reville